Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


apecs logo webAPECS is excited to announce that another leadership term has begun on 1 October 2019!


APECS Executive Committee 2019-2020:

APECS’ 13th Executive Committee (ExCom) is now in place and ready to continue to shape the polar world.

  • Jennifer Cooper (University of Kansas, USA)
  • Carolynn Harris (University of Montana, USA)
  • Juan Höfer (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile)
  • Lara F. Pérez (British Antarctic Survey, United Kingdom / New Zealand)
  • Neelu Singh (Mangalore University, India)

They have been elected by the members of the 2018-2019 APECS Council to form the ExCom, the main leadership body of APECS. Jilda Caccavo (Germany) and Gabriela Roldan (New Zealand) will serve as ex-officios and support the new ExCom over the coming year. And of course, Gerlis Fugmann (Germany), the APECS Executive Director will continue to support and foster the group from the International Directorate Office in Potsdam, Germany.

More information on the APECS 2019-2020 Executive Committee can be found here.

Jennifer Cooper 2018 copyAPECS President 2019-2020:

With a new term, comes a new president, and this year Jennifer Cooper will be taking on this role. Jennifer is currently a PhD student in astrophysics at the University of Kansas studying the gas kinematics and morphology of galaxies in various domains within the universe, and telescopes in Antarctica, alpine environments, and on satellites help to support this study. This is her 2nd term on ExCom and is an APECS Representative to SCAR Astronomy & Astrophysics from Antartica, as well as on the committee of SCAR Antarctic Volcanism. She is thrilled to be returning for another exciting term and is looking forward to supporting the Council, day-to-day functioning of the organization, and continuing to provide opportunities for early career polar researchers in collaboration with ExCom and APECS’ partners.

APECS Council 2019-2020:

For the 2019-2020 term, the APECS Council is made up of 95 very enthusiastic members from 30 countries, including representatives from 25 National Committees:

APECS Council Leadership:

  • Council Chairs: Ranjan Datta (Canada), Sean Horvath (USA), Elizabeth Orr (Germany)
  • National Committee Coordinators: Kyle Mayers (Norway), Swati Naga (India), Jiangtian Xu (UK)

Other Council member:

Ellen Ahlness (USA), Keechy Akkerman (UK), Ivan Alekseev (Russia), Tayana Arakchaa (Sweden), Mia Bennett (Hong Kong), Linde van Bets (Netherlands), Alex Borowicz (USA), Renato Borras-Chavez (Chile), Madeleine Brasier (Australia), Hélène Bresson (Germany), Jack Buckingham (UK), Paula de Castro-Fernandez (Spain), Kate Chenier (Canada), Arindam Chowdhury (India), Emily Choy (Canada), Evelien Dekker (Sweden), Rahul Dey (India), Jill Diederich (Luxembourg), Minghu Ding (China), Rebecca Duncan (Australia), Clare Eayrs (UAE), Heather Forrer (South Africa), Joana Fragao (Portugal), Eduard Galimullin (Russia), Elise Gallois (UK), Anna Gebruk (UK), Vikram Goel (India), Rodrigo Gomez (New Zealand), Gwenaelle Gremion (Canada), Rebecca Gugerli (Switzerland), Hugo Guimaro (Portugal), Laura Halbach (Denmark), Christel Hansen (South Africa), Hans Harmsen (Greenland), Alexa Hasselman (New Zealand), Meghan Helmberger (USA), Charlie Hewitt (UK), Shridhar Jawak (Norway), Kelly Kaspar (USA), Stanislav Ksenofontov (Russia), Julia Kukulies (Sweden), Erin Kunisch (Norway), Chame Lavery (South Africa), Kara Layton (Canada), Chuanjin Li (China), Zambra López-Farrán (Chile), Lina Madaj (Germany), Maciej Mańko (Poland), Sebastián Marinsek (Argentina), Zoe Martos (Canada), Claudia Maturana (Chile), Jan-Lukas Menzel Barraqueta (South Africa), Jhon Mojica (UAE), Michele Moraes (Brazil), Marta Moreno Ibáñez (Canada), Shipra Nagar (India), Prashant Pandit (India), Rosaria Erika Pileci (Switzerland), Priyanka (India), Arthi Ramachandran (Canada), Kabir Rasouli (Canada), John Read (USA), Jessica Rohde (USA), Paul Rosenbaum (Sweden), Aurora Roth (USA), Elizabeth Rudolph (South Africa), Rupa (India), Cynthia Sassenroth (Germany), Valentina Savaglia (Belgium), Morgan Seag (UK), Elisa Seyboth (South Africa), Sarah Shakil (Canada), Grace Shephard (Norway), Dhanendra Singh (India), Alok Sinha (India), Maud van Soest (UK), Philip Sontag (USA), Juliana Silva Souza (Brazil), Boris Stanimirov (Bulgaria), Simone Stünzi (Germany), Nicholas Szapiro (Norway), Marcos Tassano (Uruguay), Lauren Thompson (Canada), Florian Vidal (France), Deniz Vural (Turkey), Maximillian Van Wyke de Vries (USA), Uliana Yakusheva (Russia), Nadya Yanakieva (Bulgaria), Sinan Yirmigesolglu (Turkey), Nathaniel Young (Australia).

Additionally, Alice Bradley (USA), Meagan Dewar (Australia), Jean Holloway (Canada) and Jose Seco (Portugal / UK) and Alexander Thornton (USA) remain on the Council in an ex-officio role.

More information on the APECS 2019-2020 Council can be found here.

Once again, we thank the many APECS leaders that have come before us and have helped guide and foster many of those serving today! We look forward to another year with the projects that are currently underway, and continue to look for more ways that we can improve and expand this organization and assist early career polar researchers around the world.

APECS Leadership 2019-2020 Map

APECS Leadership Map 2019 2020 Kopie

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events