Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Representatives of the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS), the International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Antarctic Research Exchange (SHARE) have signed a memorandum of understanding to emphasize a joint commitment to the professional development of early career social science and humanities polar researchers.

The agreement will strengthen the commitment of each of the partner organizations to supporting the next generation of polar social science and humanities researchers in creating a continuum of leadership in polar research and will serve as a framework to guide future collaborations. Among others, the organizations agreed to collaborate on ensuring representation of early career social sciences researchers in all aspects of the respective organizations including business, strategy, planning, other meetings and activities and collaborative research. In addition, all parties agreed to increase the sharing of information in their organizational newsletters as well as the dissemination of information on activities, projects and requests for participation.

Gerlis Fugmann, past president of APECS called the MoU "a great opportunity to increase the involvement of early career social scientists in international polar social sciences. APECS is looking forward to working with both partners in the future." With APECS members representing both social and natural sciences, the MoU is also a great way for APECS to help create a dialogue between, and bridge some of the ‘language barrier' caused by different research methods and processes in both sciences.

A formal signing event took part at an APECS Workshop at the 2010 Polar Law Symposium in Akureyri, Iceland. SHARE signed shortly after by mail.

The International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) was created in 1990 and aims to promote and stimulate international cooperation and to increase the participation of social scientists in national and international arctic research; to promote communication and coordination with other related organizations, and to promote mutual respect, communication, and collaboration between social scientists and the peoples of the north, while recognizing these are not mutually exclusive groups.

The Social Sciences and Humanities Antarctic Research Exchange (SHARE) was established in 2007 to provide a platform for coordinating and informing about Antarctic social science, humanities and policy research.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events