Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

Polar and Alpine Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Download as iCal file
SIPN2 Webinar
Wednesday 29 July 2020
Location Online

SIPN2 Webinar
Sea Ice Prediction Network – Phase 2 (SIPN2)

Date: Wednesday, 29 July 2020

Time: 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. (AKDT)

Webinar Title: Machine Learning—Challenges and Opportunities for Applications in Sea Ice Prediction

The Sea Ice Prediction Network – Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces an open webinar entitled, Machine Learning—Challenges and Opportunities for Applications in Sea Ice Prediction.

The one-hour webinar will be held on Wednesday, 29 July 2020, starting at:

8:00 a.m. (AKDT), 9:00 a.m. (PDT), 10:00 a.m. (MDT) 11:00 a.m. (CDT), 12:00 p.m. (EDT), and 6:00 p.m. (CEDT).

This webinar will focus on the use of Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, on how such approaches can be applied in cryospheric research, as well as related challenges and limitations. Discussion will include the use of advanced machine learning algorithms in climate science with attention on how to improve the prediction of future sea-ice. Time for participant questions will follow the presentations.

Webinar Presenters Include:

  • Elizabeth A. Barnes, Associate Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science, Colorado State University

  • Morteza Karimzadeh, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, Colorado University Boulder

  • Tom R. Andersson, Data Scientist at the British Antarctic Survey Artificial Intelligence Lab

This webinar is designed for the sea-ice research community and others interested in information about applications of machine learning in sea-ice forecasting. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

More details including registration instructions, will be announced closer to the event. The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For questions, please contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wednesday 29 July 2020

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events