Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

Polar and Alpine Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Download as iCal file
IGS Global seminar #64 - Ice velocity mapping
Wednesday 29 September 2021
Location Online

IGS Global seminar #64 - Romain Millan, IGE Grenoble
"Ice velocity mapping of the world's glaciers helps to reconcile the ice thickness distribution with glacier dynamics"

We enjoying welcoming students to seminars -- they are really welcome! You (and they!) need to register in advance for the seminars, but your registration should last for several seminars. In order to register you do need to have an account with zoom. Apologies for this, it's a preventative measure to stop zoom bombing. You can also watch the seminars on Facebook Live or on our YouTube channel. Any issues, drop me an email and I will try to help.

There's a short question to answer - please tell me enough to accept you... something like: I'm a PhD student with X... or whatever. Using your official university email address would make my life particularly easy! https://tinyurl.com/yyhbcqrq

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the seminar.

  • October 6th Three shorter talks:
    Denis V. Sharapov, Tyumen State University, Russia. "Northwest Siberia as a MIS 2 desert? Inferences from quartz morphoscopy and polygonal ice wedges"
    Brianna Rick, Colorado State University, "Ice-marginal lake evolution in Alaska"
    Sarah Neuhaus, UC Santa Cruz, “Mechanism for the Subglacial Formation of Cryogenic Brines”
  • October 13th Ralf Greve, Institute of Low Temperature Science, Hokkaido University, Japan, "Of cold ice, warm ice and water: thermodynamics of ice sheets and glaciers"
  • October 20th Gavin Piccione, UCSD, "Subglacial precipitates record the East Antarctic Ice sheets response to ocean forcing"
  • October 27th Seelye Martin and Maria Coryell-Martin, Title tba
  • November 3rd Karen Alley, University of Manitoba, "The role of channelized basal melt in ice-shelf fracture and stability"
  • November 10th Early Career Scientist slots
    Ewa Poniecka, University of Warsaw, "Micro-organisms of cryoconite holes"
    Eric Petersen, Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska Fairbanks , 'tba'
    One spare slot, contact me if you’d like it!
  • November 17th Brad Lipovsky, University of Washington, "Rifts, Cliffs, and an Achilles' Heel: Perspectives on ice shelf durability from seismology, altimetry, and mechanical models"
  • November 24th Katie Miles and Bryn Hubbard, Aberystwyth University, "Insights from borehole measurements into the 3D structure of Khumbu Glacier, Nepal"
  • December 1st Iceland's National Day: Guðfinna Aðalgeirsdóttir (Tolly), University of Iceland, "The glaciers in Iceland during the last and current century"
  • December 8th Allen Pope and students from the Juneau Icefield Research Program
  • December 15th AGU Fall Meeting
    Christmas break

Seminar times:

London - 9pm
Europe - 10pm
East Coast US - 4pm
West Coast US - 1pm
Delhi (+1) - 1.30am
Tokyo (+1) - 5am
Sydney (+1) - 6am
New Zealand (+1) - 8am

The seminar will also be recorded and posted to the Friends of the International Glaciological Society Facebook page after the seminar so that you can watch it afterwards if technology fails or you can't make it! Hope to see you there!

Wednesday 29 September 2021

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events