Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

Polar and Alpine Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Download as iCal file
SIPN2 Webinar on Prospects for Improved Regional Predictions of Arctic Sea Ice
Tuesday 13 July 2021
Location Online

The Sea Ice Prediction Network-Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces the upcoming webinar, Prospects for Improved Regional Predictions of Arctic Sea Ice, that will be presented by Mitch Bushuk at the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory (GFDL).

This webinar will provide an overview of a newly developed dynamical seasonal prediction system and its performance in predicting regional Arctic sea-ice conditions.

The one-hour webinar will be held on Tuesday, 13 July 2021, starting at:
9:00 a.m. (AKDT), 10:00 a.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (MDT) 12:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (EDT), and 7:00 p.m. (CEDT).

Registration is required
Please Register Here

Webinar Abstract:

The rapid decline of Arctic sea ice and the implications for a broad array of stakeholders have spurred a decade of research activity into sea ice predictability and prediction. In this talk, Mitch Bushuk will introduce a newly developed dynamical seasonal prediction system, GFDL-SPEAR, and assess the performance of this system for regional sea ice predictions. He will discuss the key physical sources of Arctic sea ice predictability, routes to improving sea ice predictions, and fundamental limits on prediction skill. Advancing dynamical Arctic sea ice prediction capabilities will require coordinated efforts between the modeling, observational, and data assimilation communities.

Futher Information

Tuesday 13 July 2021

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events