Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

The Northern Science Award is presented annually to an individual or a group who have made a significant contribution to meritorious knowledge and understanding of the Canadian North. In the spirit of the last International Polar Year (2007-2008) the Northern Science Award recognizes the transformation of knowledge into action.

This year marks the 33rd anniversary of the award, which comprises the Centenary Medal, which was created to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the first International Polar Year, 1882-1883, and a prize of $10,000.

The deadline for nominations is January 31st 2018.

For more information, visit the Polar Knowledge Canada website at

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events