Association of Polar Early Career Scientists
 

Call for Applications: 2018-19 PolarTREC Field Seasons Researchers

Researcher Webinar Registration deadline: Monday, 28 August 2017

Researcher Application deadline: Monday, 4 September 2017

PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from researchers for teacher research experiences. Researchers are invited to submit an application to host a PolarTREC teacher in the 2018 Arctic field season and/or the 2018-2019 Antarctic field seasons.

IMPORTANT! Funding is pending for PolarTREC during the 2018-19 field seasons. ARCUS will keep researcher applicants informed of our funding status. If funding is secured, final matches should be made in December 2017 or January 2018.

A one-hour informational webinar for researchers interested in hosting a PolarTREC teacher on their polar research project will be held on Wednesday, 30 August 2017 at 11:00 a.m. AKDT (12:00 p.m. PDT, 1:00 p.m. MDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 3:00 p.m. EDT).

Webinar registration is available through the PolarTREC website at:

Webinar Registration

PolarTREC, a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS), is a project through which middle and high school teachers, as well as informal science educators participate in polar research, working closely with scientists as a pathway to improving science education.

The program integrates research and education to produce a legacy of long-term teacher-researcher collaborations, improved teacher content knowledge and instructional practices, and broad public interest and engagement in polar science. PolarTREC projects focus on a wide variety of research activities occurring in both the Arctic and Antarctic, providing an outstanding opportunity for researchers to share their passion for polar science through topics that naturally engage students and the wider public.

Through PolarTREC, teachers spend two to six weeks in the Arctic or Antarctic, working closely with researchers in the field as an integral part of the science team. PolarTREC teachers and researchers are matched based on similar science interests and selected researchers will have the opportunity to interview top applicants and make final selections.

Teachers participate in an orientation and are trained extensively to meet the program requirements prior to the field season. While in the field, teachers and researchers communicate extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all ages across the globe, using a variety of tools including online journals, forums, podcasts, and interactive webinars from the field.

PolarTREC researchers must be at U.S. institutions. Applications from researchers on National Science Foundation (NSF) funded projects will receive priority in the selection process. Researchers should have secured funding for their research project prior to applying. If funding is pending and you would still like to host a teacher contact PolarTREC to discuss your situation and future opportunities.

If you are interested in participating in PolarTREC, but are unable to apply during the application period, please contact PolarTREC staff to discuss opportunities for future participation.

Applications and additional information about researcher and teacher requirements can be found on the PolarTREC website at:

View PolarTREC Researcher Application Page

For further information, contact:
PolarTREC
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: 907-474-1600

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A43
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events