Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

Purpose – APECS Canada and the ArcticNet Student Association (ASA) would like to recognize and honor the efforts of their mentors within the polar science community of Canada. This award has been created to acknowledge the time and energy that mentors dedicate to early career researchers each year, and their efforts in building a supportive community.

Eligibility and Qualities of the Candidate – to be eligible for this award the candidate must have contributed significantly over a period of several years to mentoring and fostering of polar researchers in Canada. This award may be awarded to mentors from a variety of sectors, including academia, industry, the public sector, etc. Eligibility is not limited to those that are directly connected with APECS or the ASA.

Nomination Process

- To be considered all candidates must be nominated by a current/former students, peers and/or colleagues. Self nominations will not be accepted.

- To nominate a candidate the nominator must provide the Award Committee Chair with a nomination letter that includes:

the candidates name and title
a description of how the mentor has mentored based on the determined criteria and fostered early career polar researchers (max 1000 words).
the candidate's curriculum vitae / resume.
- Each nomination letter must be supported by at least 3 other letters of support (max 500 words). These should be submitted directly to the Award Committee Chair.

- All nomination packages will be distributed to the Award Committee by the Chair.

- Nominations are due September 15th (Midnight PDT) of each year.

- If a nominated mentor does not receive the award in the year of submission, they will automatically be considered for the following two years (three year total). After this, a mentor's nomination will need to be re-submitted.

Review Process, criteria, & decision

- Review - All nominations under consideration will be reviewed by the Award Committee made up of 3-6 members from APECS Canada and the ArcticNet Student Association.

- Criteria - each of the below categories will be ranked for each candidate

Meaningful engagement with the early career researcher
Originality of support/mentoring
Impact of the support/mentoring
Variety of mentees the mentor has supported
Variety of mentoring opportunities provided (field work, conferences, meetings, leadership, community interactions)
- Decision - the final decision will be made by consensus of the Award committee.

Award presentation

- Each year the mentor award will be presented at the ArcticNet Annual Science Meeting, if the recipient cannot make the award ceremony, someone can receive it in their place.

- The Chair will coordinate with the ArcticNet Student Association for the presentation ceremony

Award Committee Chair (2013-2014) –

Nikolaus Gantner, Trent University (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

Award Committee (2013-2014) –

The current committee consists of:

Tara Cater, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Mark Edwards, Royal Alberta Museum

Nikolaus Gantner, Trent University

Lisa Loseto, Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Daniel Pomerants, York University

Jennifer Provencher, Carleton University

If you have any questions regarding this award please do not hesitate to contact the Award Committee Chair.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A43
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events