Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


© created by Kate Chenier and Hugo Guímaro 

Guimaro Hugo APECS Online Conference 2020 March2020The Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) is proud to announce the much awaited 6th annual APECS International Online Conference to go live on 19 May 2020. This year’s theme, "Opening Doors: Collaboration across knowledge systems" aims to encourage collaboration between early career researchers, science communicators, educators, and local community members in polar and alpine regions. 

The 6th edition of the APECS International Online Conference will focus on knowledge exchange among multidisciplinary scientists, local communities, educators and science communicators. In a fast changing world, we believe it is important to pair traditional knowledge, education, and outreach with science efforts to better understand present and future challenges to the polar regions. This sort of comprehensive approach is best achieved by incorporating knowledge from a diverse array of disciplines and perspectives and is especially important for guiding policy-making. Through this conference, we hope to gain a better understanding of the many ways that Indigenous knowledge, science communication, and art can benefit our research. With this, APECS calls for early career researchers, science communicators and educators to come forward with a short presentation outlining their approach for promoting collaboration in polar science. This year’s conference will also introduce online breakout chat rooms through the Zoom platform, to foster interactions between presenters and attendees and to enable future collaboration. Within our team, we have science communication experts that will assist as facilitators in these chats.

Event Date: 19-21 May 2020 (hours to be announced shortly)

Call for Abstracts

Abstract submission is now open! 

Abstracts should be written in English, no longer than 300 words, and submitted to this Google Form prior to 31 March 2020 at 23:59 GMT. We will notify you with regards to the success of your abstract by 15 April 2020.

Presentation format: 

Participants are welcome to submit an abstract to the following presentation categories:

  1. An oral presentation via live web-based video conference. Each speaker will have up to 10 minutes (strict) to present their work and 2-3 minutes for fielding questions; this time limit also holds for presentations with more than one speaker. 
  2. flash talk via live web-based video conference. Each speaker will have up to 3 minutes (strict) to present their work and 2 minutes for questions. 

All oral presentations must be live as we will not accept pre-recorded presentations. All sessions of the online conference will be recorded live and made available in online video format post-conference. 

All participants will receive a certificate of participation.

Organizing Committee

Listed alphabetically:

  • Kate Chenier
  • Arindam Chowdhury
  • Rahul Dey
  • Joana Fragão
  • Hugo Guímaro
  • Meghan Helmberger
  • Stanislav Ksenofontov
  • Kara Layton
  • Jan-Lukas Menzel
  • Dhanendra Singh
  • Shipra Nagar
  • José Queirós
  • Jessica Rohde
  • Gabriela Roldan

Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions or comments. We are happy to help!

Copyrights / Intellectual Property

  1. Each abstract submission must be original and unpublished for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
  2. The participant shall retain the copyright to entries entered for the conference, however grants APECS unrestricted rights to use and edit submitted materials as needed for organizational purposes with or without explicit attribution.
  3. By submitting an entry for the competition, the participant will be regarded as having accepted and agreed to be bound by the rules and regulations and granted the organizer, APECS, royalty-free permissions to use any entry for promotional, commercial, or educational purposes. APECS will credit the creator for any use of a video/infographic/artwork.
  4. All participants should be aware that all plots, photos, films, etc. used in presentations, if not produced by the presenter, should acknowledge the producer. Please include copyright of the material used when appropriate.
  5. Any people featured in films must also accept and agree with the rules and regulations of this competition. All people in the film must be aware of the materials you are submitting if they contain their likeness. It is the entire and sole responsibility of the entry submitter in the competition to inform and to obtain the appropriate legal permissions of all the people in any submitted videos. Any depiction of minors must include explicit, written parental consent. Entries will be asked to provide proof of these permissions and will be disqualified if these permissions are not secured.  
  6. If music is used, the participant warrants that to no copyright violations will appear. (You can find a lot of free music for commercial use.) Entries will be asked to provide proof of these permissions and will be disqualified if these permissions are not secured.
  7. The participant further gives his consent that his/her personal data included in the submission will be used for the aforementioned purposes.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events